PDA

View Full Version : Crud On My Pot...Help!

shooterchris
07-18-2009, 07:03 PM
I have a Lee 220 volt pro 4 furnace, and there is starting to be some crust building up on the sides of the pot. I have been using the pot for about a year and it is my first one, so I am still a beginner. I know that there are probably some solutions to getting my pot clean again, but i just don't know any. Also the crust is sticking to the rod that operates the bottom pour valve and affecting the pour rate....too slow. I have to find a solution before I cast anymore, and any help would be appreciated.

docone31
07-18-2009, 07:18 PM
You simply scrape it into the melt and it floats up to the top.
It is common for slag to adhere to the sides, corners, the rod, along the bottom. I have an old long small screwdriver to do just that.
Then, toss in some Kitty Litter on top of the melt. Gunk adheres to it.

shooterchris
07-18-2009, 07:39 PM
I don't have kitty litter, but I do have marvelux and some gulf wax will those do well enough?

docone31
07-18-2009, 07:50 PM
I would rather see something carbon replaceing Kitty litter. Toss in some sawdust, or sticks. The carbon residue will attract slag, and the carbon will reduce in the melt.
Gulf wax does ok, but carbon does great!

felix
07-18-2009, 08:00 PM
Marvelux works fine. Use very little, like a 1/4 teaspoon. Yes, stir around using a resinous stick, like a flat pine paint stick. Any kind of carbon, or carbon making stuff works well. The heat of the lead makes carbon and oxygen combine readily. A lead mix is fluxed good when all oxygen buried within the mix has been stolen by the carbon, and exhausted by CO1, or CO2 gas. ... felix

TexRebel
07-18-2009, 08:40 PM
use saw dust instead of kitty litter, and if you are working out doors a small dab or used motor oil is also ok

07-18-2009, 08:55 PM
Scrape the sides, bottom, and rod with a piece of DRY wood, twig, Most any thin or stick. Paint stir sticks are great -- and free.

briang