PDA

View Full Version : Help with Lee alox lube

k8bor
03-23-2006, 08:22 AM
I'm involved in the group buy for the ranch dog bullet molds, and I know these bullets lube with the Lee alox lube. Excuse my ignorance, buy I was interested in suggestions for lubing methods with this stuff. I guess I'm trying to find an easy way to lube these bullets without getting lube all over the bullet noses. Can someone make some suggestions?
thx

Urny
03-23-2006, 10:24 AM
You can dip lube with the LLA by pouring some in a shallow pan and using a pair of tweezer to hold the boolit nose, then dip. Set it on wax paper of foil and let the LLA cure. I just tumble mine in a can with some of the liquid sprayed on, then tumble with mica the next day. Works quickly and cuts the mess effectively. I treat nearly all my .45 ACP boolits like that.

k8bor
03-23-2006, 11:02 AM
Again my ignorance. I've been casting for about 10 years with conventional lubes etc. and never heard of the mica thing. Is it a powder that adheres to the lube to cut down on the stickiness or what? thx for ur input.
dave

flhroy
03-23-2006, 04:43 PM
I heat the boolits up in a metal coffee can. I get 'em so they're not too hot to touch but too hot to hold on to for more than 10 seconds or so. I tumble lube in a different container so I don't heat up the residual lube. That seems to help keep the aroma down a bit so I'm alloyed to do this in the kitchen.

Bret4207
03-23-2006, 07:42 PM