PDA

View Full Version : Patching Board

BABore
07-16-2009, 11:43 AM
I went wild the other day and made up a patching board for myself. Since I'm just starting out, and progressing, I figured I'd move up from my piece of foam rubber on a counter top.

Don't let the mylar stick-on tape fool you. It's half scale. Something that was lying around the shop.

357maximum
07-16-2009, 12:08 PM
That is basically how I built mine, but I used some nice maple wood. My "alignment rail" is square...I would have mounted the angled piece so you could use the higher square side to align the boolit nose against it btw.

Good to see you are doing something creative at work and using that big ol desk of yours for a noble purpose.[smilie=1:

Why would a feller keep a half scale ruler around?...whatcha measuring that you want to make it seem 2X longer than it actually is?[smilie=1::kidding:

BABore
07-16-2009, 12:52 PM
They line up real good at the base of the angle. Just like a shallow v-block. I figgured the angled surface would be good for laying the tag end of the patch up on. We'll see tonight.

BABore
07-16-2009, 12:56 PM
Why would a feller keep a half scale ruler around?...whatcha measuring that you want to make it seem 2X longer than it actually is?[smilie=1::kidding:

Left/right ball screw for an axle assy fixture. Iff'in you want, I can get one for your fishin boat. It'll make your fish stories mo-betta. Besides, the rule is mylar. You put it on soft and it'll measure true later on

357maximum
07-16-2009, 01:53 PM
Ya think Jenny's fish and game boys would buy them measurements? her accountants cannot count right either..so just maybehaps might get away with it.[smilie=1:

Some of us are still young enough that we do not have to wait for things to ..errr stiffen up.:twisted:

Marlin Junky
07-22-2009, 01:40 PM
Bruce,