PDA

View Full Version : lube on boolit bases with lyman 45?

singleshotbuff
03-21-2006, 04:34 PM
Gentlemen,

I'm kinda new to using a lubrisizer, mostly used TL and push throughs up until now, and I ran into a small problem with my new (to me) Lyman 45. I'm getting lube under the boolit, as in on the base. How do I fix this? I'm guessing it's just a minor adjustment? Other than that, I love this old 45 so far.

Thanks for any help.

SSB

SharpsShooter
03-21-2006, 04:55 PM
Gentlemen,

I'm kinda new to using a lubrisizer, mostly used TL and push throughs up until now, and I ran into a small problem with my new (to me) Lyman 45. I'm getting lube under the boolit, as in on the base. How do I fix this? I'm guessing it's just a minor adjustment? Other than that, I love this old 45 so far.

Thanks for any help.

SSB

Your's is a common problem with several solutions.

1. Reduce the lube pressure. (You may have to run the boolit through twice)

2. Keep firm pressure on the press handle at the bottom of the stroke to prevent lube from seeping under the base.

3. Vent the ejector pin by drilling a small diameter hole through the length of the pin to allow an escape for the excess lube.

4. Be sure that the boolit base is flat and the sprue cut was true. A protruding sprue cut will cause the problem often.

There ya go.

:coffee:

StarMetal
03-21-2006, 05:04 PM
Sharpshooter,

Just drilling a hole through the plunger rod won't vent the lube, it has to have vents at the bottom of the rod or more preferrably what the rod butts against. The lube has to have somewhere to go.

Joe

SharpsShooter
03-21-2006, 05:34 PM
Joe

The properly vented ejector pin needs no other modification and produces a small extruded ribbon of lube at the base of the pin itself. Works like a charm.

StarMetal
03-21-2006, 05:41 PM
Sharpshooter,