PDA

View Full Version : powder questions

07-11-2009, 01:02 AM
I'm not sure this is the right place but i figure what the hell. I'm currently working on trying to understand all I can about reloading. I've been reloading for about 6 years now but it's been extremely limited I've used only Unique and really only loaded three calibers (45 acp, 38 spc, and .357 mag). The reason being is that when i was a very poor kid with no internet access and no one to teach me how to reload i picked up the lyman accupress kit opened the manual and saw that of all the calibers i wanted to load Unique was listed for pretty much every bullet. Now that i am branching out into rifle, and casting. I am doing my best to understand the powders used in reloading especially as i need to make another selection or two for a rifle powder (and potentially a cleaner handgun powder or two)

Does any one have any good links concerning pressure, burn rates, things to take into consideration when making a powder selection. Currently i'm going to be loading for .223, 38-55, 300 savage (i'm hearing good things about 748 on this one), and i really want a guide gun.

any help at all advice or links to demystify this would be greatly appreciated.

Shiloh
07-11-2009, 09:47 AM
I started the same way. WW 231 for 9mm and .38. When I started there was no internet. Start Googling your questions. There are countless website. Cross check the info. If it doesn't sound right or varies greatly from published info, don't use it.

http://www.reloadbench.com/burn.html

Shiloh

Rocky Raab
07-11-2009, 11:32 AM
Some of us started reloading a half-century before anybody even thought of an "internet" -- or computers for that matter!