PDA

View Full Version : Help identify old pistol

lovedogs
03-20-2006, 06:33 PM
Recently, a friend brought me an old revolver to identify. It's a 3 inch nickel plated break-top, like the old S&W's or H&R's. It looks like a copy of the old Smith. On top of the rib on the bbl. it's marked MERIDEN FIREARMS CO., Meriden, Conn. USA. It has no other markings other than a serial number on the bottom of its curved butt. It's a .32 cal. A .32 S&W round fits perfectly in the 5-shot cylinder. Anyone know anything about this cutie? I thought about looking for a mould to cast bullets for it but thought I should find out what it is first. It's in pretty good shape. Nice looking bbl.

Bret4207
03-20-2006, 07:29 PM
I'm no expert, but I'm pretty sure the Meridian guns were a more or less an economy brand similar to maybe H+R today. If your gun is in good mechanical shape it may be OK to use with factory equivilant loads. You might try a google search on the company name. I'm also pretty sure the gun would be made between say 1890 and 1930. You might check the old Gun Digests if you have access to them or Numrich Gun Parts. It seems to me one of them had a listing of the "house brands" and who made them.

StarMetal
03-20-2006, 09:09 PM
The Meridan company made guns in about that time fram Tpr Bret mention, except I believe they quit earlier the 1930. They made guns specifically for Sears Roebuck Co. Some of Meridan's guns were made in Belgium. They made shotguns too.

All Numrich has is I believe some parts for shotguns and not many.

Joe

floodgate
03-21-2006, 01:43 AM
lovedogs:

They were in the third rank of American makers of break-open, self-ejecting revolvers - a cut below the Hopkins & Allen */ Iver Johnson / Harrington & Richardson family, but a notch above the un-branded "Suicide Specials". If really tight and smooth working, probably OK for a few shots of factory .32 S&W - but wear shooting glasses!

floodgate