PDA

View Full Version : greaase groove ?

XWrench3
07-07-2009, 11:11 AM
so i was looking at some of my cast boolits the other day. i was wondering why the grease grooves have square edges, instead of a tapered goove like the crimping groove does. it would seem to me (i know, i am just a rookie) that if the greas was shoved outward when fired by a angled groove, it would force the grease out against the barrel, and maybe lube better?

mpmarty
07-07-2009, 11:24 AM
Ah sweet mystery of how lube works in a barrel.
IMHO centrifugal force takes care of getting the grease from the groove onto the barrel surface.

07-07-2009, 12:51 PM
XWrench3,

I think Elmer Keith was the instigator for square grease grooves, because they hold more lube. Problem with them, though, is that they don't allow a boolit to easily release from the mould. Modern square grooves have an ever so slight radius to correct that problem.

Regardless of the design -- once a boolit is in the barrel -- rpm, centrifugal force, and inertia will make sure that the lube does its job.

runfiverun
07-07-2009, 02:22 PM
a bullet making contact with the bbl can't throw nothin nowhere. spinning or not.
the square grooves are for lineal pressure [you know gas pushing on the base of the boolit]
for some odd reason they seem to be more accurate then rounded grooves the lube also has a tendency to stick in the grooves better than a radiused one while handling etc...

07-07-2009, 04:33 PM
runfiverun,

The grooves, just that, they don't contact the barrel, allowing the lube to do its job.

This article, by Glen Fryxell, explains it much better than I can.

runfiverun
07-08-2009, 12:43 AM
i've read glen's work, thank's..
and the lube i use is still in the grooves when it reaches the target not spun all over the inside of the bbl. lube is forced from the grooves from lineal pressure from the rear as the boolit deforms [obduration is the term]