PDA

View Full Version : dealing with large ingots

Gunlaker
07-06-2009, 11:20 PM
Hi,

I'm just getting into casting for BPCR. I've got almost all of my equipment :D.

I've also picked up two 60 lb lead ingots and a handful of tin one pounders. Whats the best way to deal with these big lead ingots? I tried attacking 'em with my sawzall, but it was a pretty slow go.

Any suggestions? I was thinking that maybe I ought to cut them in half, get a big pot, melt them and pour smaller ingots?

thanks,

Chris.

standles
07-06-2009, 11:26 PM
axe

circular saw with blade reversed

There are several threads dealing with tearing down large ingots/rolls that had other ideas. A quick search should turn them up

Steven

runfiverun
07-06-2009, 11:27 PM
cast iron pot on the cooker and make smaller ones.

AZ-Stew
07-06-2009, 11:44 PM
A coarse wood cutting blade in the sawzall will work much better than a metal cutting (hacksaw) blade. Cut slowly with it and let the blade do the work. A coarse bandsaw blade (in a bandsaw, of course) will work, as well.

Don't use a cutting torch. It will heat the lead to the vapor point. You don't want to inhale that.

Some claim that an axe works. If you're cutting pure lead, though, it'll be a lot like cutting bubble gum, regardless of the tool.

Someone mentioned a good cutting fluid for sawing lead a few months ago, but I don't remember who or what the fluid was. Maybe he'll read this post and refresh our memories.

Regards,

Stew

Dale53
07-07-2009, 12:15 AM
I've been faced with this problem several times through the years. My "Final" solution is to use a large cast iron Dutch Oven (mine is 12" from Harbor Freight) sitting on my Fish Fryer from Bass Pro. I have melted up to and including a 92 lb ingot on my Fish Fryer Smelter. After it is melted and fluxed it is a piece of cake to "make little ones out of big ones".

Here's my set up while working:

http://i269.photobucket.com/albums/jj80/Dale53/QWinter2009andleadsmelting-1767.jpg