PDA

View Full Version : Welding Cast Iron

StrawHat
07-05-2009, 09:19 PM
I have a piece of cast iron for a hand plane I need to extend approximately 1/4".

Can it be welded? Brazing may not work so I thought I'd ask about welding. Seem to recall that cast iron is a pain to weld.

Thanks

docone31
07-05-2009, 10:09 PM
Brazing is the trick.
Years ago, when I worked in a garage specializing in foreign cars, when a manifold would crack we brazed it. We could also braze on parts that snapped off.
The trick is to keep the heat constant. SLOWLY let it cool.
There is cast iron rod for the electric welders also. I have no experience with that though.

yarro
07-05-2009, 10:22 PM
If I remember correctly from by welding class 20 years ago, you have evenly heat up cast iron to a specific temp before you weld on it. Brazing is much easier to deal with.

-yarro

454PB
07-05-2009, 10:45 PM
Brazing works fine and is easy to do, but cast iron can be arc welded using the correct rod, and preheating.

Uncle R.
07-05-2009, 10:50 PM
Ditto the brazing. As strong as the iron itself and much easier to do than welding. Heat the part uniformly, cool slowly. On a rough casting I'll usually grind a small bevel on the joint to get clean metal before I begin heating.
Uncle R.

JIMinPHX
07-05-2009, 11:54 PM
It sounds like the pre-heating & slow cooling part has already been covered. You need that regardless of which joining method you choose to use.

If you are going to arc weld cast iron, then you need NiRod (nickel). The stick rods usually have a black flux on them. It ain't easy to work with, but it can be done. If you want to go that route, then I recommend that you find someone that's done it before (& had good results). Let them do it. Figuring it out the first time is no 5-minute job.