PDA

View Full Version : RIA and lead bullet issues.

Andrew Quigley
07-04-2009, 09:39 PM
Bought me a Rock Island Armory Goverment a month or two back and love it. It's shot well with Federal and other FMJ but I loaded up some rounds of 200gr bullets and it's given me trouble.
The first round might or might not chamber. If it doesn't then it's shaved a lip off about half way around that stops at the brass and won't let it chamber. The bullet usually sticks in the chamber and when I yank the slide back it pulls the brass off the bullet. Course then I got powder everywhere!
This is my first time loading 45 acp but been reloading other ammo for several years. My overal length isn't to long, the barrel slugs right at .451 and I'm sizing to .452.
My thinking is the feed ramp. It's smooth but I wonder if I shouldn't blend it in to the back of the barrel.
Thanks for any help.:drinks:

07-04-2009, 10:22 PM
If the bullets are semi-wadcutters or hollow-points, the feed ramp, indeed, could be the culprit. If you plan on continuing to shoot cast, it would be an excellent idea to polish it. Just be careful to not remove any metal.

The case will need a tight taper crimp, too.

S.R.Custom
07-04-2009, 10:31 PM
...it's shaved a lip off about half way around that stops at the brass and won't let it chamber. The bullet usually sticks in the chamber and when I yank the slide back it pulls the brass off the bullet....

What bullet are you loading?

The .45 ACP can't have any full diameter part of the bullet sticking outside of the case; all of the bearing surface must be inside the case. (.45s have a very short throat.) Depending upon the bullet, this will mean that the cartridge overall length may be significantly shorter than published max OAL.

Don't get into the feed ramp just yet.

Andrew Quigley
07-05-2009, 12:52 AM
I'm using a 200gr rn. I might need to seat the bullet a lil' deeper. Overal length is 1.254. Using Lee dies but not a seperate crimp die.

S.R.Custom