PDA

View Full Version : New to casting recommend setup for 44 mag

Pmc
07-01-2009, 10:08 AM
Hi, been lurking and reading. Ready to jump in.

I have been reloading for about 8 years. I want to cast bullets for some suppressed 44 mag rifles. I have access to lots of WW and possibly some linotype.

I would like your recommendation on a quality 6 cavity 240gr mould. These bullets will be used for hunting deer sized game.

I am sure I will have more questions.

Pmc

nighthunter
07-01-2009, 10:24 AM
Welcome to the board PMC. I think it would be best if you found someone near you and maybe joined in a casting session or two. 6 cavity molds are not the only way to get started. You can make a big pile of bullets with a 2 cavity mold and usually get a better quality mold to start with. There is a lot to learn about casting but it definately can be done by a beginner. You seem to have a source for the metals needed. Next would be a pot to melt them in. This can be a bottom pour electric pot or a top pour heated by various means. Next is the casting of the bullets then comes the sizeing and lubricating of the cast bullets. Again there are several methods that all work. It all adds up to another of lifes little addictions. Let us know where you are located and see if any other fellow casters could get together with you.

Nighthunter

Lloyd Smale
07-01-2009, 11:13 AM
buy yourself a 4 cavity lyman 421429 mold or a rcbs 2 cav 250 k or 250 kt. Id say a 2 cav lyman would do but i quit buying them as ive just had to many problems with there 2 cav molds and think there 4 cavity molds are a much better made mold. cast them out of straight ww for anything under 1100 fps and mix lyno and ww 5050 for anything over and you wont go wrong.

Firebricker
07-01-2009, 11:19 AM
+1 on Lloyds post. Welcome Pmc.

mroliver77
07-01-2009, 11:32 AM