PDA

View Full Version : New to shotshell loading - need help

JIMinPHX
06-21-2009, 11:29 PM
Hi guys,
I've been loading rifle & pistol rounds for many years, but I never really got around to doing much with shotshells, except for a dozen or so .410 shells that I did as an experiment once on homemade equipment. Basically, I know almost nothing about shotshell loading.

I have a 20ga Lee Loader now & I just found a bunch of Remington 20-gage "sport load" 2-3/4" hulls out in the dessert a few weeks ago (8-point). I was hoping that someone might be able to help me out with a recipe for loading these things up. I have Unique powder kicking around, but I don't mind buying something else if I need to. I've seen CCI primers in stock locally lately. Other brands are hard for me to get at the moment. I've seen Claybuster & Winchester brand wads in stock at a local store. I have lots of recovered shot laying around that I would like to try, or I have a little bit of #9 that is brand new, I could also use. I don't need a high tec skeet load. I just need something that would be safe to fire. I just want to load up one or two boxes to sort of get my feet wet & get the hang of it.

Can anyone help me out with a little basic info?

Thanks,
Jim

Johnch
06-22-2009, 12:08 AM
Pulled from Remington's website

Sport Loads

Available in both 12- and 20-gauge Remington Sport Loads are an economical, multi-purpose utility load for a variety of shotgunning needs. Loaded with our premium Power Piston wads, No. 8 shot, and plastic Unibody hulls, these shells perform effectively for skeet, trap and sporting clays, as well as quail, doves, and woodcock.

I see Alliant droped the data for that hull off their online load data
Go to Alliants website
http://www.alliantpowder.com/questions/default.aspx

Fill out the form and ask then

John

IllinoisCoyoteHunter
06-22-2009, 09:04 AM