PDA

View Full Version : Too much crimp?

walker77
06-17-2009, 09:40 PM
Im new to reloading. Ive done some 223 now im trying some pistol loads. I think i got my 40 down ok. Unfortuantly its a hk P2000sk so i cant use cast in it. But yesterday i tried getting my settings right for my 44mag load. I used a lee die. And i think the crimp was way too much. Thanks for the help.

http://i718.photobucket.com/albums/ww189/nwalker77/44bullet.jpg

mdi
06-17-2009, 09:50 PM
From what I can see, it isn't to much. I shoot medium to heavy loads in my .44 Blackhawk and a heavy crimp is necessary to both hold the bullets in place during heavy recoil and to insure good ignition with the powders I use (WC820 and 2400).

HeavyMetal
06-17-2009, 09:50 PM
I don't think thats to much crimp but I do think it's in the wrong place.

Without seeing a boolit that hasn't been seated I can only guess of course. Most semi wadcutter molds, especially for the 44, have a front driving band with a groove under it to "fold" your crimp into.

Crimping as you have is not a problem but it does reduce case capacity and therefore, in theory, it will raise pressure.

If you need to use this boolit crimped in this manner I will suggest you back off the start load your using another 5% and you should then work up from there.

If you change your crimp location in the future you'll have to rework the load from scratch.

Blammer
06-17-2009, 09:55 PM
personally I think it's too much crimp.

I put little and mostly NO crimp on my 44 mag loads and have no problems with them.

runfiverun
06-17-2009, 10:37 PM
for a load of h-110 that is okay, but i wouldn't use that much crimp unless needed for functioning in a lever gun.
does that boolit have a crimp groove elsewhere?

Gohon
06-17-2009, 10:45 PM
That looks like a RNFP type to me, not a semi wadcutter. If it is the former then the crimp groove would be just about where it is crimped.

walker77
06-17-2009, 10:51 PM