PDA

View Full Version : lee enfield 303, 200 grain boolits

loogie33
06-13-2009, 09:42 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am wondering if anyone has any experience loading these? the bullet diameter that i bought is .313. I have been looking for loads with these bullets using h4350 as i have 2 lbs of this and would like to use it. i found one reciepe using a 220 grain cast bullet and 41 grains of powder. will this be ok for a 200 grain?

any info would be appreciated as I am new to boolits

Thanks

docone31
06-13-2009, 10:39 PM
I cast 180gn. I size to .314.
You might look into paper patching. I paper patch my Enfields with great results with full tilt loads.
.313, might be a little light. When I patched to .3135, I got 6' groups. Clover leafs at .314.
You could "Beagle" the mold, then size to .314. Popgun loads might work for you.
Others will pipe in on this. Lots of us have cast and succeeded with the Enfield.

runfiverun
06-13-2009, 10:58 PM
4350 is not a good reduced load powder
you might want to back down the velocities to about 1800 or so and go from there.
but not with 4350

dromia
06-14-2009, 12:57 AM
Welcome aboard loogie33!

If you want to get top velocity as you appear to by wanting to use H4350 then boolit fit and alloy strength and elasticity is crucial.

Have you slugged your chamber throat and bore to see if your boolit diameter/fit is good?

Doing that will answer your questions.

A faster powder and aiming for lower velocities will be somewhat more forgiving but potentially accurate.

superior
06-14-2009, 03:17 AM