PDA

View Full Version : Trail Boss smokin'

Jack Stanley
06-07-2009, 10:21 AM
Since I've never used Trail Boss before , I have no experience to draw from . I used the loads listed on the Hogdon web sight and right up to the max charge the cases are smoked . With any other powder I'd increase the charge a bit but like I said , I'm new to Trail Boss .

I used two hundred fifty-five grain Lee bullets with five point eight grains .

Also used two hundred and thirty grain flat nose bullets with six point five .

The smoke on the cases is a real bear to clean up . I'm trying a citrus solvent and then the polisher again to see if they will clean up .

Thanks for any help . Jack

Hang Fire
06-07-2009, 10:59 AM
I have the same thing with 45 LC in my Kirst conversion cyl for 58 Remmie. Smoked cases from 255 grainer, 200, 185 and round ball. I dasn't load them hot enough to effect a good pressure seal with the mild steel framed 58, so keep all loads on the low end. I haven't read anything about over powder filler for Trail Boss, so leery of trying it until I get some practical data.

Jack Stanley
06-07-2009, 04:24 PM
OK then , thanks . Perhaps I bought the wrong powder for the job . I don't need to be concerned about old guns and to much pressure because the gun is modern . I'm thinking I can get low velocity with 700-X , Red Dot or a similar powder and have less of a clean up problem .

I only bought the small can to try it out .

Jack

Throwback
06-07-2009, 07:15 PM
If your bullet wieght and velocity are too low with any of the fast burners you will regrettably get smoked cases.

Harry O
06-07-2009, 08:34 PM
Like any other powder, you can go higher than the factory suggestions, provided you have the right gun for it. I tried Trail Boss in my 32-20's. The maximum load suggested is 2.8gr. That fills the case just a little over half full. It is perfect for old, weak, or light guns -- just like my 1931 Colt Police Positive Special.