PDA

View Full Version : Failure to Feed Question

Erik
06-06-2009, 11:24 AM
Hi, you guys have been so helpful in my quest to reload 7.62x39, and using cast bullets no less. I have just one more question (hopefully).

I have successfully loaded 7.62x39 cases with 155 grain lead bullets using 14.5 and 15.0 grains of Alliant 2400. I get reasonable accuracy with both loadings. Unfortunately, about one in three rounds failed to feed properly. Usually, they are getting caught about 3/4 of the way into the chamber. Twice, however, the rounds failed to clear the magazine.

Is this likely the result of me not crimping quite enough? If not, what is the most likely cause? It's really bothering me, because reliability is really important to me.

I also noticed the recoil on the reloaded rounds is about half the recoil with Wolf factory rounds. Is that to be expected?

Thanks so much for all of the help you've generously given me so far. I am fairly new to reloading.

anachronism
06-06-2009, 11:41 AM
That's about a .357 mag level load, in a larger case, so I suppose it is pretty mild. As for the feeding issue, it could also be a sign that the rifle needs the bullets seated to a different overall length.

Erik
06-06-2009, 11:48 AM
The length I seat to is 2.11 inches OAL. Do you think that's too short? Could it be a crimp issue?

BillDan
06-12-2009, 02:29 PM
Sounds like the action is short-cycling due to low power loads. Switch to a slower powder and start at the minimum load to see if cycles the action reliably. Reduced cast bullet loads in auto-loaders just have problems with stock springs and gas ports.

Maven
06-12-2009, 04:22 PM