PDA

View Full Version : acid core solder/ how much tin?

bingo
05-31-2009, 12:08 AM
I Have some 5lb roll of OLD solder that says acid core. I believe this was used to solder copper pipe and the acid part is it has a small amount of flux already inside it.

Does anybody know if this is 50 lead and 50 tin?

If it is does adding 5lb to 100lb ww sound right. That would give me 2.5% tin for fill out.

Still green at this. Did some casting a coulpe years ago (self taught) before I found this wonderfil site. Got out my equipment, cleanen everything, scrounged 2 five gal. ww, bought a cast iron dutch oven, and retrived my turkey fryer from the farm, and bought another mold. Thinking tomorrow will be a great day to make about 200lb ot ingots.

P.S. Just picked up my new rifle last night. The wife wanted to know why I needed another gun. I asked her if she remembered the new mold I got about 2 weeks ago. She said yea. Then I said" well, none of my other guns fit the bollits that the mold makes". Then she says oh O.K. I love her.

P.S.S I love my wife too.

Bingo

Slow Elk 45/70
05-31-2009, 02:26 AM
Hullo Bingo, you are correct, the acid core solder has its own flux, Google it for the composition , it should be 96.5% tin / 3.5% silver. I normally use 50/50 when adding solder to a mix, I have not added it to WW, Been shooting these for a long time,
The WW should be fine as is, try it first, pour some boolits and see if you get good fill out, if not , then you might add some tin if necessary.

You don't say what you are casting for or how hot the loads are you want . For most of my shooting , I use WW and water drop them. They work fine for 357,45APC, 44/454Mag pistols 308, 30/30, 38-55, 45/70 to mention a few. They don't have to be water dropped, it just gives me a standard hardness to work with, I'm old and lazy.

Great for you , on the wife's attitude, if you can keep her happy. Good casting

geargnasher
05-31-2009, 03:15 AM