PDA

View Full Version : Some questions

outdoorfan
05-29-2009, 10:38 PM
I'm a newbie caster, and I pan lube. Been getting the hang of it, although I don't have it dialed in yet.

1. When pan lubing, I've been reheating the heat-treated bullets (50/50 soft and ww's). I've been getting them up to 170-180 degrees F before pouring the lube. I'm not sure at what temperature those bullets will start to anneal/get soft/lose their hardness from the HTment. I don't think 180 is enough, but I would like to know for sure.

2. I've been using Lar's C-red. Is this lube soft enough to stay useful for me in the fall/winter when the temps are anywhere from 40 down to below 0? I would think so, but once again, I'd like some confirmation from other's experiences.

I have been working up a load for my Savage .223 (Stevens barrel, actually). Pretty sure it has a 1-9 twist. Veral made me a mold. It is a spitzer style with a .1 meplat. Weight with the above-mentioned alloy after lubed and gc'ed is around 71 grains.

I now have 51 rounds thru it, including foulers and sighters. The barrel is brand new and has never had any jacketed bullets fired in it. So far I've only tried H4895 and Winchester SRP's. I learned real quick that at velocities over 2200 accuracy goes south real fast. All groups so far have been 3-shot groups, and only one per load increment at that. I know several groups at each charge gives more precise data, but I don't have the time.

So, this is what I've got so far:

My first batch I tried to load like jacketed. I went in one grain increments from 21-24 grains. Velocities were from 2492-2792. Seemed to be 100 fps per grain of powder. Accuracy was 4-5 inches, except for the 24-grain charge, which was quite a bit worse. This was at 50 yards.