PDA

View Full Version : Lead in an ACP? what about Ported Barrels?

oleycow
05-26-2009, 01:12 PM
OK guys here are my questions

I have a friend who casts lead .45 boolits, He is offereing me some but here is what I question and or don't know

#1 I reload for my Dad's ACP i have only ever used Jacketed lead, Is moulded lead safe for an ACP? (Kimber Ultra Compact)?

#2 I Reload for my 454 raging bull (ported barrel) again only Jacketed rounds so far, is lead safe in a ported Barrel? Heard recently that lead is Bad in ported Barrels

#3 now that I am reloading for both the 454 and ACP is there a Boolit out there that could work for both? So that I could buy in bulk and save $ I realize that the casull would have to be lightened for a boolit to work in both. I also understand that my casull needs to have the crimping groove. Maybe the better question is can you shoot a casull boolit out of an ACP? with the crimping groove?

I am very new to the ACP

Oleycow

DLCTEX
05-26-2009, 02:17 PM
There are so many variables possible that it is impossible to give a definitive answer. The 45 ACP uses a 451 or 452 bullet, but the individual gun may accept a 454 bullet and function ok. With a lead bullet, there is little danger of over pressure using a bullet a few thousandths oversize.The crimp groove may permit seating to a length that will function in both guns, but it depends on the bullet selected. You did not specify a weight, but the ACP will need nothing larger than about 230 gr. A 255 gr and larger can be used, but it requires stronger springs andrecoil buffers and still is hard on locking lugs.