PDA

View Full Version : Lyman 4500 gas check seating

TREERAT
05-08-2009, 10:01 AM
I am still learning how to use my 4500, works perfect for about 10 bollits then it pukes lube up through the die, to much preasure or to much heat?

I ordered a gas check mold, and have the gas check adapter for the 4500. what usualy works better, instal checks and lube latter or try to do both at the same time, in and out with the adapter for each bollit? how do you do it?

Tn_River_Ratt
05-08-2009, 10:36 AM
What kind of lube? Too much pressure? Maybe Heat? Doubt it.

Install checks and lube at the same time.

Larry Gibson
05-08-2009, 11:11 AM
TREERAT

"I am still learning how to use my 4500, works perfect for about 10 bollits then it pukes lube up through the die, to much preasure or to much heat?"

To much pressure and not holding the bullet down (doesn't have to be hard but should hold the bullet solidly against the die ram [I die]. Also adjust the stop up or down slightly so the lube holes in the H die are not aligned with the base of the bullet and the ram.

"I ordered a gas check mold, and have the gas check adapter for the 4500. what usualy works better, instal checks and lube latter or try to do both at the same time, in and out with the adapter for each bollit? how do you do it?"

If the GCs are a tight fit and do not bottom flat on the base of the GC shank with thumb pressure I seat the GCs first and then size/lube them. If the GCs are a slip fit and bottom on the GC shank I will seat/size/lube in one operation.

Larry Gibson

TREERAT
05-08-2009, 02:19 PM
I am using carnuba red.

let me ask if my meathod is right: plug heater in for about 20-30 min before sizing. sizer is in house at room temp when unpluged, around 70 deg.