PDA

View Full Version : lubing .38 wc - how many rings?

gravely
05-05-2009, 08:12 PM
I am a newbie using a H&G #50 .38 wadcutters that have 3 grease rings. I am currently lubing the bottom 2 rings. My question is do I need to lube all 3? My shooting buddies give me mixed answers. I am using a star-magma lubersizer and I had such a hard time getting it set up I hate to mess with it unless I really need to.

archer
asheville,nc

Trey45
05-05-2009, 08:15 PM
I'm only lubing the bottom ring in my H&G50 boolits, works for me, no leading.

stubshaft
05-05-2009, 08:45 PM
Try it with 2 grooves and see if it is accurate and if it leads. If it shoots great and doesn't lead call it a day.

wonderwolf
05-05-2009, 10:14 PM
Cast up 200 of those things.....Lube all of the rings on 50, then 50 with 2 then 50 on just 1 then no lube at all.....But only load about 20 or so with no lube lol. Then test and see what works for you...who cares what your buddies tell you...esp if it doesn't work for you. Come up with your own solution to the problem. Me I would lube all of them...lube is cheap and its better to have it and not need it than the other way around lol :drinks:

mooman76
05-05-2009, 11:09 PM
You already have been doing 2 rings. Is that working for you? If it ain't broke don't fix it!

HeavyMetal
05-05-2009, 11:21 PM
My 38 WC boolit is the Lyman 35863 with three lube grooves.

In the cast bullet annuals sold by Wolf publishing I saw a very old article about 38 wadcutters using to much lube and causing accuracy issues.

The author did some testing and found one lube groove filled was all it took to provide excellent accuracy in both a model 52 smith and a K38.

When I set my Star up to size these it was real easy to have it lube the center groove. As this is a double ended wadcutter it seemed the right idea to stick with the whole either end propect this mold was noted for.

Having said all that Mooman has it right! If two grooves work, your happy with group size be happy!