PDA

View Full Version : confused!!!!!!

mainiac
04-10-2005, 08:12 PM
ive been shooting cast bullets for a few years now, and shoot mostly ruger blackhawks. I try to match my throats and bore size to my load etc,etc, i have some pretty accurate loads for them,but i recently (finally) bought a single-six in .32 mag. Upon measuring this thing it became apparent that the throat-bore size was way out of whack.Throats are .309 and bore is .3137, i never figured this thing wouls shoot...........upon trying it, the 85 gr. federal factory loads shot inside 2 inches ( scrubbed the copper out and will never shoot any again!) loaded up the empties with 4 grs. unique and half was a 94 gr. lee round nose and the other half was a lyman 311316gc, sized them 311 and you cant amagine how this thing shoots! using these guessed at loads,it shoots an easy 1 inch group (25 yards) and cant wait to fine tune it! Why i am confused is because this thing shouldnt shoot this well,, how can it?? it didnt seem to lead hardly at all, which i was sure it would because of the big bore size. the 4gr.-unique with 311316 (117grains) does seem pretty hot and probaly will tone this down next time!!! This thing is easily the most accurate hand gun i own! have heard that all these .32 rugers shoot well. Do they all seem to have the small throats? thanks,mark

Buckshot
04-10-2005, 09:49 PM
...........Don't have a Ruger or anything in 32 H&R so I don't know about them or their habits. The only thing I can figure for the way your pistol shoots with those odd measurements is just that everything else must be just right. Chamber-barrel alignment, and the forcing cone, etc. Possibly also the load and alloy temper is such that the boolit may be upsetting sufficiently in the forcing cone to take the lands.

The dimensions are defiantly NOT right, but I sure wouldn't consider messing with them until things go sour. You know the old saying, If it isn't broke ..............

............Buckshot

Pb head