PDA

View Full Version : Dacron - what is it and where

Gunsmoke
04-26-2009, 02:31 PM
I am fairly new to this form and have never posted a new thread so I am not even sure I am doing this right or in the correct place, but hope some one will straighten me out as needed.

Many of you talk about Dacron used as a filler and 20 some years ago when I was doing CB's ( I took a long break, now retired so doing some things I only thought of doing while working 3 jobs) I used some but don't remember what it is or where I obtained it. Now at the fabric store the bags are all labeled polyfil and Dacron is not mentioned anywhere. Is the polyfil same as Dacron? If not where do I obtain if not at a fabric or hobby store.

Gunsmoke

mooman76
04-26-2009, 02:52 PM
The polyfil you are taling about is esentually the same thing. I think Dacron was actually a name brand when it first come out or something to that effect. I use dryer lint to do the same thing. It's free and readily available.

Larry Gibson
04-26-2009, 05:06 PM
My usual post when this question comes up. A good question BTW.

Larry Gibson

I don't use the dacron filler or a wad either with the fast to medium burning "fast" pistol /shotgun type powders. I find a fast burning powder that is fast enough to ignite and burn efficiently at the velocity I want.

For use in rifle cases with slow “fast” burning powders (4227, 4759, 5744, 4198, etc.) up through the slow burning powders that give around 80% or less loading density I use a dacron filler between the powder and base of the bullet. The “dacron” is polyester fill as commonly found in pillows and toys. It also comes in sheets called “batting” . It can be obtained very reasonably at most any fabric store.