PDA

View Full Version : newbie here with rolling block queries

fish3006
04-25-2009, 09:06 PM
i'd love to get some advice on a gorgeous, near mint rolling block.

a friend of mine owns it. he has no intent to sell it, but he is not computer savvy. i told him i'd do some 'net research for him.

1) the rifle is said to be chambered in .43 egyptian. my friend has a box of .43 spanish rounds. i chambered a couple. they seemed to chamber perfectly, but i do understand there are differences between the two. i told him he needs to do a chamber cast to verify.
2) the stock has single "R" cartouche on the heel.
3) each of the barrel bands has a single "U" cartouche.
3) a single "B" cartouche is on the left side of the receiver.
4) no serial number is in evidence. the trigger guard lists "Remington and Sons, Illion ..." and various patent dates.
5) the rear ladder sight is beautifully milled.
6) the barrel has a bayonet lug.
7) the walnut stock, oil finished, is almost unmarked by handling, but it appears to be musket grade; definitely not a slick commercial type finish.
8) the bore and chamber look to be unfired. the firing pin hole look utterly unmarked by a primer ever in its life. muzzle bluing is intact. the cleaning rod is pristine.

perhaps a commercial rifle that got packed away upon purchase? i'd think that if it had ever been in an armory, more handling marks would be in evidence.

Once the chambering is established, my friend wants to fire it once, clean it, then display in a case with ammunition and - he hopes - a bayonet.

many thanks ahead of time,
paul

fish3006
04-25-2009, 09:09 PM
By the way, I can post pictures later on ...

Buckshot
04-26-2009, 04:15 AM