PDA

View Full Version : Seasoning/Protecting pots, ladles, ingot molds?

Ancesthntr
04-17-2009, 01:06 PM
I'm new to casting, but not to guns. I was wondering if it is preferable to "season" the casting pot, ladle and ingot molds (like with veggie oil or something similar). I just wonder if the lead or lead alloy would stick to these things (all cast iron or, in the case of my muffin pan ingot, steel) without the seasoning.

Also, since ferrous metals rust (yeah, I know, that's not exactly the latest news), does anyone protect these tools with a rust preventative? If so, is there a concern about what happens when you heat them up?

Thanks much for any responses.

jforwel
04-17-2009, 02:01 PM
I have only been doing this for a few months but I don't season anything. I use a cast iron pot for smelting and have cast iron dippers. They are all kept dry. I also just bought a cast iron corn bread pan that has rust on it but I pour my ingots in it and they come out fine. My smelting pot and dipper don't have a problem with rust and I just keep them in the corner of the garage.

Slow Elk 45/70
04-17-2009, 04:55 PM
Dry, a little surface rust doesn't hurt the ability to make ingots. IMHO

I keep mine DRY , I sure don't want any type of oil in the pot/pan etc. when I pour HOT-molten lead into it.:???: I've been using cast iron for this purpose for many years with no problems.[smilie=1:
The alloy isn't going to creep into the pores in the metal to the point of causing a problem.

Never have used the cast pots, ladles,spoons to cook with after smelting in them, probably not a good idea, wifie might throw a shoe. Keep them separate from your cookware.[smilie=1:

Be Safe and Have Fun:drinks:

markinalpine
04-18-2009, 11:19 AM