PDA

View Full Version : New bullet caster from down under.

Pistolero
04-17-2009, 12:07 PM
Hi guys,

Thanks for allowing me to join the site. I have been reloading for 10 years but have only just started casting my own in the last 2 weeks!

A friend and pistol club members gave me an old Lee melting pot with bottom pouring spout. I got myself a Lee 358-158-RF mould that I am casting for a .357 S&W 686. I will start with 9mm soon but dont have the time just yet! (2 kids, wife, job, blah,blah,)

The alloy is made up of old hardcast projectiles that I have obtained from an indoor pistol range. I really don't know what they are made up of. I have thousands of them and they are all hardcast (.38 Special). I just melt them down and recast them in my new lee mould. I make them into ingots and then put the ingots into the pot. I flux the metal with candle wax a light it. (I am going off the Lee reloading maunal)

My problems so far with casting:

wrinkled bullets (the first 20 or so) I guess the mould is cold?

some have nice sharp edges - some don't

If I add new ingots to the pot do I need to wait a while so the pot can get back up to temperature?

Should I be adding any other metals to the alloy? I have read that Tin can help fill out the mould. Do I need to bother?

Sorry for all the question but I am new at this!

Cheers fellas.:Fire:

archmaker
04-17-2009, 02:56 PM
Correct on your mold probably being cold for the first few boolits.

To be able to determine what your problems with your boolits, the best piece of advice as a new caster is to get consisitent with whatever process you are using to cast. If using the Ladle, make sure you have the same amount of lead, you pour it at the same speed, and leave the same amount of sprue.

Develop a rythym, and then once you get that down, then see if you have a consistent problem with your boolits. If you do then you have at least the process down :)