PDA

View Full Version : lee sizing kit?

saz
04-10-2009, 05:34 AM
I am looking for some advice....... I am fairly new to casting, and I started by casting my own blackpowder projectiles- RB's and minnies for my 58. I want to get into casting for my .44 Mag. I have aquired some lee 310's in the past from a friend and they shot VERY well. However, my question is about sizing and lubing. I dont shoot pistols that much, and dropping a ton of cash on a RCBS, Starr, Lyman etc., seems like a very big investment to start especially if I dont enjoy the pistol side of casting. My question is has anyone used the Lee sizing kit? Is it really that much of a pain to pan lube then run through the sizer if im not doing that many at a time, say 100-200 bullets at a time? I do enjoy shooting my pistol but I may only burn up 50-100 rounds a month if im lucky- I shoot WAY more blackpowder than that. Any advice will be greatly appretiated!!!!! Thank you.

dromia
04-10-2009, 06:59 AM
Firstly do the boolits you will be making need to be resized for your firearm?

Most don't so check that first. If you don't then you can just pan lube and shoot without having to bother resizing. Or you can just get some liquid alox from White Label Lubes, loads cheaper than the Lee offering and use that to tumble or dip lube a la Ranch Dog.

If you do need to resize then the push through type that Lee offer work very well, I'd check out Buckshot here on these boards as he makes fine sizing dies.

Bret4207
04-10-2009, 08:24 AM