PDA

View Full Version : Newbie questions re: Smelting pot and flux

Ancesthntr
04-07-2009, 12:22 PM
I'm just getting started. An old brass rat, adding the skill of lead-ratting to my resume.

OK, I have some WW lead, more to be acquired in the near future, but no pot for smelting or casting yet. No molds or anything else. I figure that the first thing I'll do is accumulate a couple hundred pounds of lead or lead alloys, then smelt them down to ingots, and thereafter begin casting for .38 Special, 9mm and .45 ACP. Rifles I'll do later, once I get good at it and can justify the extra investment (I've got a house, a wife and 2 kids to support, plus got my ass kicked in the markets, so I'm on a budget).

I'm going to get a steel spoon/ladle plus a similar one for straining out wheelweights from either a local grocery or Maomart, and either buy some welders gloves or use some potholders for them and the pot.

I'll likely get a bottom pour caster along with the molds in a couple weeks, and put only the cleaner & fluxed lead/alloys into it. I will likely start with a Lee, but may graduate to something better in time.

Here are my questions:

1) On the smelting pot, it seems that the consensus is cast iron, preferably of higher quality. There's a Harbor Freight not far away, and they have a D.O. for about $20. However, would there be anything wrong with a simple stainless steel pot of 3-6 quarts (far cheaper at Maomart), so long as I have something to protect my hand when moving it?

2) Regarding flux, has anyone tried dryer lint? I have a bunch of it in a bag (easy to start campfires with it, it is about as dry as anything can be and has a huge surface area). Most of the lint is either cotton or wool, though probably some is synthetic.

standles
04-07-2009, 02:58 PM
Sounds like you got the right path laid out.