PDA

View Full Version : question about wheel weights...

rondog
04-01-2009, 12:07 AM
Hey all, I'm new here, so be gentle! :-D I've never tried casting bullets yet, I'm just getting started in the "gathering" phase, I want to get a bunch of lead first, before I buy the tools. I plan to cast up a bunch of ingots before I spend any money on the bullet casting equipment.

I just scored about 3 gallons worth of free wheel weights today, and I've heard that zinc weights are bad juju. How do I tell the zinc weights from lead? And what other metals are there to watch out for? :confused:

Thanks!

par0thead151
04-01-2009, 12:19 AM
melt your lead at 650-700F
the cooler you melt the lead the better.
the zinc will float to the top with the rest of the ****.
dont pick it out by hand unless you dont value your time

jforwel
04-01-2009, 12:23 AM
+1, use a thermometer and watch your temp. Scoop out the weights that float.

snaggdit
04-01-2009, 12:29 AM