PDA

View Full Version : Brass vs. Aluminum Molds?

Nora
03-31-2009, 05:44 PM
I'm looking at possibly getting a bonus check this month. Being the responsible person that I am, in a not so stable economy I feel investing would be a smart move. Problem is I'm not sure on which direction to go. Which would be a better investment toward happiness and satisfaction? Having a .316" mold made for my M-38 out of brass or aluminum? I've got no experience using brass molds, so is there any advantage in one? I only see them listed by those custom made. The price doesn't seem to be that much different..... so how do they stack up performance wise? :coffee:

Blammer
03-31-2009, 07:38 PM
brass is more valuable... :)

I'd go with brass, they cast really well!

runfiverun
03-31-2009, 07:49 PM
brass dude.

SwedeNelson
03-31-2009, 09:06 PM
Have three from Old West Moulds.
All are the best.
Brass is realy sweet.

Swede Nelson

borderghost
04-09-2009, 08:24 PM
Having a custom 3 cavity brass mould made - boolit is going to be for 50 cal with sabots - .451 / .835 long / smooth body / FB/RN / bout 325 grn - also having a custom jig of my own design being made so i can make hollow points after i have cast , hole will be 3/16 with an adjustable depth - wonder which type of lead - soft , medium , hard - will be using the spin jag to load them with , hoping the smooth body will let the sabot release better then having rib boolits, any ideas or suggestion are welcome

Gerry N.
04-09-2009, 09:16 PM
I've got both kinds of moulds. Both cast very well. Brass takes very close attention to temperature becasue if the unthinkable happens and you solder the blocks together, you end up with a very pretty, very expensive paperweight. For that much money, I would surmise you could buy three Lee molds , holding the extras in reserve, with enough left over to take the missus out for a steak dinner.

There you have my 2 cents.

Gerry N.

montana_charlie
04-09-2009, 09:48 PM