PDA

View Full Version : Where are the Lyman Hollowpoints?

tcarr
02-11-2006, 11:34 PM
Hi, I'm a newbie both here and to this bullet casting thing, so if I don't know what I'm talking about its because I don't know what I'm talking about.

Where does one find a mould for Lyman 358156 in the hollowpoint version? I want to get into casting so I can try some Skeeter bullets now that I've got some Skeeter guns, but I guess Lyman dropped the hollowpoints sometime in the last twenty five years or so.

Along the same line, has anyone tried using the Forster case trimmer with the hollowpointer gizmo? Just wondering how concentric that would be. This may be an option if the correct mould can't be found.

Thanks for the help,
tc

crazy mark
02-11-2006, 11:44 PM
The Forster adapters sorta works. Getting a real HP mould unless you luck into one can be expensive. Some people HP their moulds or have machinist friends do it for them. Check the auction sites but be ready to pay in excess of $60 usually. Mark

Murphy
02-12-2006, 02:17 AM
Welcome aboard tcarr.

As for being a 'newie' to both the site and boolit casting, you've came to the right place. You'll find a wealth of information here. A lot of great, helpful people. I just joined this site about the 1st of the year.

Now as to your question about finding Lyman hollow point moulds. About the only option you're going to have is as crazy_mark says. Ebay will be your number one source. The Lyman #358156 HP mould occasionally pop's up there. But do be prepared to pay anywhere from $60-$85 for it. It will depend on the condition of the mould of course.

To add to this, bullet casting is a great hobby in itself. There comes a great satisfaction in not only 'rolling your own', but also casting the bullets they shoot. Seeing that you are a fan of Skeeter's...is a great thing. I own both the solid and hollow piont versions of Skeeters favorite .38/.357 bullet. Skeeter was my favorite of all the old time shootist's / writers.