PDA

View Full Version : Gonic .45

03-28-2009, 08:11 PM
My friend just bought a "Gonic .458"???? I've never seen one and have never heard about them. He informs me it shoots a .458 long bodied boolit. Anybody here have any experience with a "Gonic" ML rifle? Any moulds he should now be on the look out for? I want to help him out with good info, but I don't really know what to tell him.

Maven
03-28-2009, 08:47 PM
725, Those rifles used to be manufactured in Gonic, NH and were of very high quality. They may have been associated with Thompson/Center at one time as well. Moreover, I read somewhere on the internet that parts for such guns are in short supply and controlled by one person essentially, but I can neither confirm nor deny the truth of this.

03-29-2009, 12:33 AM
Thanks, Maven. Any word on what boolit it should take? He says it's a .458. Guess we won't know until he gets it home and can slug the abrrel.

Maven
03-29-2009, 09:49 AM
725, No, I've no experience with the Gonic rifle (never even seen one in person). However, with a removable breech plug, you should have no trouble slugging the bore. Btw, I read on another forum that wrapping the breech plug 2x with plumber's teflon tape + a coating of your favorite grease on top of that is very effective in preventing stuck plugs. I've done this on my Knight Bighorn, but the weather hasn't allowed me to test it yet.

Underclocked
03-29-2009, 11:10 AM
Kittery Trading Post has a few listed in their used guns section. I'm sure they could provide you with more info.

You'll need a long heavy conical, likely 400 grains plus, to get best performance. Lyman 457193 shot as-cast might be a good candidate.

Boz330
03-29-2009, 12:52 PM
First off I'm not an expert on Gonic's and did not know that they even made a 45.