PDA

View Full Version : Ruger 45 bullets, barrel, and cylinder.

Wm.A.Barth
03-14-2009, 11:11 PM
I bought a new Ruger 45 long Colt, 7.5 inch barrel. When I slugged the barrel, the barrel is noticeably tighter about 1 inch or less from the cylinder. Why would the barrel get smaller like this? It measured .449 to .450. The cylinder measures .451+. I sized my homemade bullets to .451 and I can push them through the cylinder with my finger. If the barrel is smaller by the cylinder and gets bigger, would this cause gas to pass my bullet? I made a bunch of bullets from soft lead (pure lead) and I have been lead to believe now that these may be too soft to shoot using 8 gr. of unique gun powder. I now have a bunch of wheel weights. Should I melt all of my soft bullets and use wheel weight lead? Can I mix the soft lead and the wheel weights, and if so, what percentage? If I shoot these soft bullets, what will happen? I am new to all of this. Any help you can give me will be most appreciated

Wm.

StarMetal
03-14-2009, 11:40 PM
I bought a new Ruger 45 long Colt, 7.5 inch barrel. When I slugged the barrel, the barrel is noticeably tighter about 1 inch or less from the cylinder. Why would the barrel get smaller like this? It measured .449 to .450. The cylinder measures .451+. I sized my homemade bullets to .451 and I can push them through the cylinder with my finger. If the barrel is smaller by the cylinder and gets bigger, would this cause gas to pass my bullet? I made a bunch of bullets from soft lead (pure lead) and I have been lead to believe now that these may be too soft to shoot using 8 gr. of unique gun powder. I now have a bunch of wheel weights. Should I melt all of my soft bullets and use wheel weight lead? Can I mix the soft lead and the wheel weights, and if so, what percentage? If I shoot these soft bullets, what will happen? I am new to all of this. Any help you can give me will be most appreciated

Wm.