PDA

View Full Version : Swaging Jackets from annealed pennies?

CountryBoy19
03-14-2009, 10:05 PM
Hi, I am new to swaging. I have a 458 Socom for deer hunting and I would like to start making my own bullets for it. With the current lack of high BC bullet for this load I want to venture into making my own HP or Soft point BT bullets using annealed pennies as jackets. My problem, I've never swaged bullets before. I know that I am perfectly capable provided I can get a little direction. Has anybody ever used pennies as jacket material before? If one were to design their own bullet, how would I get dies etc for swaging it?

Thanks

scb
03-14-2009, 10:22 PM
Pennies are no longer made of copper. They are copper plates zinc.

captainkirk
03-14-2009, 10:42 PM
Yep, around '82 or '84 they switched to the cheaper zinc, plated with copper. It still costs more than a penny to make a penny...

captainkirk

PS you might check with SSK industries, I think they may have some high BC 458s or know of a source. May not fit in the magazine though if you are shooting an AR. I think Jones' work was with the 458 whisper in bolt guns or single shots.

CountryBoy19
03-14-2009, 11:31 PM
Pennies are no longer made of copper. They are copper plates zinc.

Correct, part way through 82 they switched. I'm aware of that, and its normally assumed that they'd be pre 82 pennies. I have buckets of them.

Lead pot
03-15-2009, 01:10 AM
Country Boy.

:-D If you want to use Penney's for .458 jackets you better lay a few on the train tracks and let a freight train flatten them a little, like say 2" round:roll:

CountryBoy19
03-15-2009, 02:11 AM
Country Boy.

:-D If you want to use Penney's for .458 jackets you better lay a few on the train tracks and let a freight train flatten them a little, like say 2" round:roll: