PDA

View Full Version : What do I do with it?

Lead melter
03-10-2009, 01:51 PM
A recent package purchase provided me with about half a dozen cans of Goex black in Fg and FFg granulations. All the cans have been opened [at least there are no paper seals on the cans], but do not appear to have gotten wet since there is no clumping. Is there a way to tell if it is contaminated? If some different granulations have gotten mixed, is it safe to shoot. What can I do with it, since I have no experience at all with the black stuff?
Thanks ahead for any suggestions.

MT Chambers
03-10-2009, 02:35 PM
Lord hates a coward, Let 'er rip!!

fishhawk
03-10-2009, 02:47 PM
well for one i never found a paper seal on a can in over 30 years. second it's not like your mixing reddot and unique it all black powder. third if it got wet it dries. fourth SHOOT IT!

northmn
03-10-2009, 03:32 PM
There were some BP cartridge shooters that used to mix a little fine powder in with the coarse to speed up ignition. As stated shoot it. IF works good in big guns like 45-120's and ML Shotguns. 2F is used in about everything.

Northmn

big boar
03-10-2009, 04:40 PM
I think Mike Venturino, a very well known black powder shooter and writer, has used black that was made a long long time ago and said it worked just a well as anything new. I'd shoot it.

BPCR Bill
03-10-2009, 06:07 PM
I loaded up some old DuPont from maybe 60 years ago, just waitng to go out and shoot it, compare it to my Swiss, GOEX, Schuetzen, etc. I have some newer powders out in my shed and I have to screen the clumps out of them if I let them sit out there too long, especially over the winter. Load it and have some fun!

Regards,
Bill

August
03-10-2009, 08:41 PM
Black is not as sensitive to changes in loading or granulation (speed) as smokeless powders. If I had your cans, they'd be in my MEC, making shotshells.

Southern Son
03-11-2009, 03:02 AM