PDA

View Full Version : I think I need a 1911 in 45acp

buck1
03-10-2009, 12:50 AM
:Fire: I started reloading as soon as I started shooting, and always resisted the urge for a center fire semi auto. I hate to search for brass.
But lately I have been wanting one, a GOOD 1911 in .45 acp.
I have Cadillac tase but a Chevrolet paycheck. :violin:
So for about $600-700ish what do you guys recomend?
PS no plastic please , I am alergic to it, it makes me break out in bad language.
and it needs to be cast boolit friendly.
Thanks in advance.........Buck

Muddy Creek Sam
03-10-2009, 12:58 AM
I just got a Colt O1918 1911WW1 (http://www.castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?t=47333)Little more than you want to go, Second Choice was the SA 1911 GI. I just had to have the Pony To go with my @nd Gen 1851 Navys.

Sam :D

j20owner
03-10-2009, 01:38 AM
I'm a little biased, but I'd recommend a Dan Wesson PM7 or RZ-45. The list price on CZ's website (http://czusa.com/products_handguns_dw.php) is a little over $1100(I know, over your budget) but they are superb examples of the 1911 family.

be603
03-10-2009, 02:15 AM
In that price range:

Springfield Armory GI or Milspec model
Tauras PT1911

Forged frames on both of them. A worthy platform for later upgrading if you're so inclined. Not the cast frame of cheaper 1911's such as the Rock Island.

Snapping Twig
03-10-2009, 02:19 AM
Save up the extra and get a DW.

Go less and it's a crap shoot. You may end up with something good and wonder what we were talking about, if so, God bless and we're happy for you.

If not...

Honest - it's worth the extra.

My CBOB shoots lead like nobody's business.

http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?t=47579

waksupi
03-10-2009, 03:37 AM
If you can tough it out, I'm going to suggest you wait for a little bit on getting a 1911. Something very good is in the near future you may want in on.

MtGun44
03-10-2009, 06:12 AM
Save a bit, shop hard and get the Dan Wesson. Highest quaility out there