PDA

View Full Version : Ruger, Savage or Remington

arcticbreeze
03-08-2009, 12:45 PM
I am looking into buying a new rifle this week. I have decided to go with 30-06 and have narrowed my choices down to three. They are the Remington 700, Savage 110 and the Ruger M77. Since I have no experience with any of these rifles I would like to hear your thoughts on witch would be the better choice. This gun would be used for hunting pigs and deer in FL and range playing. 100 yard shots are rare while hunting here but I like playing at the range at 100-300 yards. I am kind of partial to wood for witch ever is chosen. (Just aesthetic preference, don't like plastic)So it would probably be one of these models.

Remington 700 CDL
Ruger M77 Hawkeye
Savage Model 110GXP3

The Savage comes with a scope but since I will end up most likely recapping it with better quality optics I am not counting that in the equation.

rockrat
03-08-2009, 01:04 PM
Partial to the 700's here, but I uderstand that the Savage has a good trigger in the Accu-trigger and many of them will really shoot

Firebricker
03-08-2009, 01:08 PM
articbreeze, IMO you cant go wrong with any of the three. My current deer rifle is a m700 but I have had a ruger 77 and it shot great as far as the110 I have never owned one but my friend had one a shot and I liked it to all three were acurate and reliable. If wood stock is a factor I like Rugers wood stock its a classic design that fits me good. I like the flat trigger on the 700 over the rounded 77 but thats just my preferance then you have the 110s accu trigger I have never shot one but I have some coworkers that swear by them.
Good luck you've got a tough choice. F.B.

nekshot
03-08-2009, 01:14 PM