PDA

View Full Version : New guy intro, question and comment

USARO4
02-03-2006, 11:32 AM
Hello, I'm a longtime lurker and gleaner of knowledge from this site. I've been handloading for fourteen years and casting for four years. I credit this site with getting me started in casting, yep, I've been lurking here that long. I collect Ruger revolvers but they're mainly just a vehicle to launch lead from. My question, has anyone tried to fire 32 H@R magnum rounds thru a .30 carbine Blackhawk revolver? I read about this on the Ruger forum and would have asked them but they're not accepting new members. IMHO this is the best site for info and camaraderie regarding PB bullets. I feel like I already know many of you here. Any members here from the middle TN area? I'd like to swap bullets, beer, and lies with you. Thanks.

9.3X62AL
02-03-2006, 11:49 AM
Welcome aboard, USARO4. No, it didn't occur to me to try that move with the 32 Mag ammo in a 30 Carbine Ruger revolver--and I had both at the same time. The 30 Carbine ammo loaded to about 1000 FPS was a LOT less blasty.

I suspect the 32 Mag brass would get at least distended by firing in the wider charge hole--.356" as opposed to the cartridge's .337" just above the rim. I am NOT fond of radial clearances that wide. There has been some commentary on firing 32-20 cases in the 30 Carbine revolvers after running the cases through a 30 Carbine sizer--someone my chime in with details on that practice, which seems pretty sound at first glance.

Cherokee
02-03-2006, 01:21 PM
I personally would not fire 32 H&R in the 30 Carbine. If the smaller case were to let go, gas would come your way. As for 32-20 in 30 Carbine, I have several 32-20 OM Rugers and not a single one will allow for chambering a 32-20 case and rotating the cylinder - there is a rim on the case and the Ruger does not have clearance for it. What I did was have an auxilary cylinder properly chambered for 32-20 and that works great.

USARO4
02-03-2006, 02:04 PM