PDA

View Full Version : Rifle in Pistol.....

acemedic13
03-07-2009, 10:26 AM
xxxxxxx

HeavyMetal
03-07-2009, 10:41 AM
I think large rifle primer's are a little taller than standard pistol so this my be an issue with 45 auto in a 1911 not sure about use in a revolver.

Rifle primers are supposed to be hotter than pistol so this may also be a factor depending on which powder your using.

The move I'd make in your place? If you load rifle keep some and then trade off some for standard pistol primers.

Post in the swap and sell section for a face to face and you'll avoid Haz Mat fee's and maybe make a new freind.

03-07-2009, 10:43 AM
I have no experience and it won't be long before actually knowledgeable folks chime in, but it is my understaning that rifle primers are made thicker than pistol primers and thus are harder to ignite with firing pin impact. As long as it's not a magnum I would load one and see what happens. (Loaded empty case) If it ignites from the force of the pistol striker, I'd say you were good to go. Just my impression. I'll be interested in comments from those who really know what they're talking about.

jhrosier
03-07-2009, 10:44 AM
Large rifle primers will not work in a pistol.
They are too tall.
You should have no trouble trading them for pistol primers though.

Jack

longbow
03-07-2009, 10:51 AM
The large rifle primer is a little deeper than a large pistol primer so won't seat flush with he case head.

I found out many years ago while loading .44 mag using a Lee Loader. I didn't have any trouble shooting but occassonally I would have a primer go of while seating. That lead me to check and sure enough they didn't sit flush with the case head. They fit but there is a possibility of th eprimer being set off by the bolt closing on it.

Here is a link with primer and primer pocket info:

http://www.lasc.us/primerchart.htm

And another:

http://www.lasc.us/Brennan_6-3_PrimersPrimingTools.htm

Even better: