PDA

View Full Version : Equipment for casting (new to casting)

375RugerNo1
03-06-2009, 09:22 PM
I’ve been reloading for several years now and have slowly progressed towards shooting cast bullets. I can now access wheel weights with reasonable frequency at very low cost.

Thus being the case I am now interested in being able to cast my own bullets for my more expensive to shoot cartridges.

I would appreciate your thoughts on what equipment I will need to begin this process. I have read books about casting bullets but would like some real world advice on the equipment you would recommend to a newbie caster (as well as the brands).

I have no equipment for this new endeavor at present.

Thanks for your time
Pat

arcticbreeze
03-06-2009, 09:33 PM
I started out with a turkey fryer that I already had, a cast iron pot from Harbor Freight ($12), some stainless steel cooking utensils from wall mart (1 with hole for straining and a ladle)($8) for smelting wheel weights. I bought an ingot mold for about $12 but a lot of guys use muffin pans.
For casting I bought a lee 20lb bottom pour pot, I think it was about $65. I started with Lee 2 cavity mold them progressed to 6 cavity molds. You can get some alox and just tumble lube. I went with a Lyman 4500 sizer (probably my biggest startup cost).

I think thats it. Oh by the way welcome..

GP100man
03-06-2009, 09:36 PM

get a good pair of safety glasses
a steel pot of sorts
heat source
a ladle
mould ( a lee to start with until you find out if you like castin or not, but you will !!!!)

low bucks to get started.

GP100man

monadnock#5
03-06-2009, 09:48 PM
With all the choices in readily available equipment and tools on the market, the availability of good books on the subject and the knowledge and advise gleaned from the Board Members here, we can have you casting beautiful cast boolits in very short order. We (I) only need you to answer this question. How deep are your pockets?