PDA

View Full Version : Staining maple

357maximum
03-06-2009, 08:31 AM
I decided this was the best place to ask this question as most of you all BP'ers have played with maple.

What if a feller wanted to stain a piece of hard maple lemon yellow and he wanted it to stay that way after a finish was applied? What would he use? I want it to look like freshly cut osage orange...forever.

Highlighting the grain a bit while this yellering was happening would be nice also.

I know there is some sweet specialty stains out there, but have no experience with anything other than tung/danish/tru-oil finishes. I have zero experience with maple..just walnut and birch.

thanks
Michael

StrawHat
03-06-2009, 08:53 AM
Maple will eventually take on a reddish cast naturally. I have several stocks in the garage rafters and they are reddening up as we speak. I am not sure what to use to keep them "clear". Perhaps shellac? But shellac is soluble in alcohol and most likely gun oils so be careful.

Maybe a trip to one of the muzzleloading forums would get you an answer.

Kuato
03-06-2009, 11:21 AM
I use BOILED linseed oil on all my bolt/ML stocks. Don't use raw linseed as it will never dry. To get the oil to penetrate deeper I thin it a bit with mineral spirits. I usually put 6 hand rubbed coats on the stock letting each coat dry for a day. Then after all the coats are dry, I let the stock cure for a week or so. I finish up with several coats of wax (beeswax) & buff the stock by hand..

The BLO will darken the stock slightly. Kinda like a honey color.

smokemjoe
03-06-2009, 11:44 AM
I dye mine with Fiebings leather dye, They make yellow, orange, reds, Mix, or straight, Use a small piece to test. Last forever,Got some on rifles from 35 years ago and still same color.

waksupi
03-06-2009, 12:33 PM
The leather stain is your best bet. The color will darken somewhat with age, due to the natural tannic acid in the wood.

mooman76
03-06-2009, 12:41 PM