PDA

View Full Version : 20 to 1 vs. wheel weights

stumpjumper
03-05-2009, 01:24 PM
ive read in other place`s that the reason for softer boolits in bpcr is so the boolits will bump up to the rifling. i guess i dont get it. if you are shooting a boolit that is .459 in a barrel that is .458 what is there to bump up to. anyone shooting the holy black with wheel weights, or even hard cast. i am wondering what kind of results your getting. thank`s Dave

218bee
03-05-2009, 01:45 PM
I'm new at this game, but from what I understand .......for example I have a Trapdoor that slugs over .460 so I need the bullets to "bump up" or order a custom mould. From my experience shooting Black when it goes off its much more of an explosion in the cartridge causing the "bump up". I may be wrong.....but if your bore is smaller than the boolit in black powder cartridge (not like say a smokeless pistol round) you may want to size boolit to more closely match bore. Most knowledgeable shooters use 20-1 or 30-1 mixtures. Don't know if wheelweights may cause more pressure being harder?? Or more leading??
I guess I didn't answer your question but thought I'd throw in my .02. I am learning about this Black business every time I load or think I get something figured out...I've been loading for over 40 years but feel like a newcomer with the Holy Black

BPCR Bill
03-05-2009, 03:47 PM
ive read in other place`s that the reason for softer boolits in bpcr is so the boolits will bump up to the rifling. i guess i dont get it. if you are shooting a boolit that is .459 in a barrel that is .458 what is there to bump up to. anyone shooting the holy black with wheel weights, or even hard cast. i am wondering what kind of results your getting. thank`s Dave

Stumpjumper,