PDA

View Full Version : colloidal graphite source?

partsproduction
03-04-2009, 01:33 AM
I've been reading Phillip Sharpe's book on reloading and am impressed by what he says about colloidal graphite. The problem so far has been finding any. Does anyone know and care to inform me as to where I can purchase this in a small test quantity? I did find a source of 50 pound bags of it. :roll:

jhrosier
03-04-2009, 06:27 AM
You might look for 'microfine' graphite.
I believe that it is the same stuff.

Jack

roysha
03-04-2009, 01:36 PM
however, I will need to check. If I do, how much do you need to experiment with? What I have, if I still have it, was used to mix with some HEAVY oil to lube turbine bearings from my past life when I worked in the sugar refining industry. I made up some graphite grease wads similar to the old IPCO wads and it worked quite well, but I haven't done that for years. If I don't post in a day a so, PM me to remind me. Old age, ya know....:)

partsproduction
03-04-2009, 05:31 PM
Researching a bit I found a benchrest forum in which a poster said he applies micro fine graphite to his barrel bore before he puts it away. I got the impression he swabs lockEZE down it. I was thinking more of making up my own lube tubes with it.

280Ackley
03-04-2009, 07:22 PM
The farmers around here use a fine graphite in with the seed in their seeders. Is that what your looking for? I use it on lots of things I want to lube without the cold gumming things up. (Locks, semiautos ect) If so PM me and I'll send you some.

Kraschenbirn
03-04-2009, 07:51 PM
The 1# can on my workbench is green and yellow and the label says "John Deere Lubricating Graphite, PN B12343B"...I bought it on a farm sale about 20 years ago and still have almost half the can left.

Bill

partsproduction
03-04-2009, 11:50 PM