PDA

View Full Version : excess lube on base of boolit

KirkD
03-01-2009, 06:06 PM
I have a RCBS Lubrisizer (says 'LAM II' on the side). I'm relatively new at this, so I figure I must be doing something wrong. When I size and lube boolits, it is often the case that I can lube coming in between the base of the boolit and the seating face of the plunger. I have to scrape the lube off the base of each boolit after sizing and every few boolits, clean all the excess lube off the face of the plunger that the boolit sits on. What am I doing wrong? I do fool around with the adjustments until it pretty much stops and if I speed up the lever movement it also helps. Is the excess lube because I'm not pushing the boolit far enough down inside the sizing die? It seems to me that it stops when I adjust it to go further down into the die, but I figured I'd ask the question here anyway, just in case there is some special trick rule of thumb that will clarify things for me.

454PB
03-01-2009, 11:27 PM
It's a common problem, and usually caused by the nose punch "sticking" to the boolit. When that happens, the boolit is pulled up by the nose punch and lube squirts between the boolit and the ejection rod. One solution I've read is to put a piece of styrofoam between the boolit base and ejection rod. It acts as a seal and reduces leakage. Personally, I'd alter the nose punch to fit the nose better.

hithard
03-02-2009, 12:40 AM
Kudos to the guy who recommended taking a quarter in bolt and turning the had down to fit the dye, for use as a top punch. As all my boolits are FP this works for them all. Talk about cheap, and it won't hold on to the boolit and cause this problem.

But if you are using a beveled base boolit, to bad, your just going to have to live with it. Unless you alter the mold, by taking out that bevel. Which you can do pretty easy. But then you have to make sure you have a good flare on the mouth of your cases. Or you will shave lead.

1hole
03-02-2009, 02:40 PM