PDA

View Full Version : Snub nose .32 H&R Mag load data. 100 Grain

Ultarnr25
04-03-2024, 10:31 AM
Good Morning,
I am new to reloading and have all my supplies decided except the correct powder to use for my practice range ammo. I have the S&W Ultra Carry (J frame) in .32 H&R Magnum. I plan to only reload .32HR and.38 Special with cast lead for paper targets.

Will be using Starline .32 H&R brass, CCI Small pistol primer and Rim Rock Bullets.32 100 grain RNFP (.313) and their .32 100 GR. DEWC (.313). These are all I can currently find for range ammo. I got their info from the Handloader article by Brian Pearce:
https://www.handloadermagazine.com/32-h-r-magnum-pet-loads

That article has a chart for J-Frames and the Rim Roc 100 Grain RNFP with 6.0 grains of A-7 is listed as : "Potentially being the most accurate with that particular bullet". I was ready to purchase the Accurate #7 but was told by the only reloader i know that "A-7 is for larger caliber loads and is dirty". Is there any truth to that or should i stick with A-7 as posted on Handloader article.

I have The Modern Reloading Man. 2nd Edition and it only has Bullseye listed for 100 grain .32HR MAg.

If you have a recommendation for a better powder to use with 100 grains threw a snub nose than #7 for .32 H&R i would really apricate any insight. Thank you!

racepres
04-03-2024, 11:24 AM
Don't know about better...But, I have had much more success with AA#5 than AA#7 in 32's. In fact AA#5 is my go to, in .32, H&R or S&WLong.. or, good ole Unique...which cannot be sourced locally here...so BE-86
tho Unique has not been bested in 32S&W (no L)

gwpercle
04-03-2024, 06:59 PM
Accurate #7 is a slower burning powder , better suited to longer barrels and possibly larger bores ... It wouldn't be my first choice ... or my second .
Accurate #5 is shown in the Lyman Cast Bullet Handbook #4 as possibly the most accurate powder with a 100gr. cast bullet .