PDA

View Full Version : Applying gas checks?

Bobby Ironsights
02-20-2009, 01:43 AM
So, I'm thinking about moving up to gas checked pistol and rifle bullets, instead of just lead projectiles for my blackpowders, and .45 auto. The costs of good jacketed bullets are really climbing.

Can you apply gas checks properly to a bullet designed for them, without a lubrisizer? Is there a simpler, cheaper tool? I'm a student in a crowded apt., so I'd hate to find out I could have just bought a 20 dollar hand tool, instead of a large bench mounted tool.

Thanks for your time,
Bobby

Bret4207
02-20-2009, 08:37 AM
The Lee push through system works fine.

armyrat1970
02-20-2009, 08:45 AM
The Lee push through system works fine.

Yep. I use the Lee lube sizer for my rifle bullets and they seat the gas checks when sizing. I don't think you need gas checks for handgun cartridges. Your not driving them that hard.

MtJerry
02-20-2009, 09:03 AM
For boolits I load as-cast, I use my bench vice.

armyrat1970
02-21-2009, 08:38 AM
So, I'm thinking about moving up to gas checked pistol and rifle bullets, instead of just lead projectiles for my blackpowders, and .45 auto. The costs of good jacketed bullets are really climbing.

Can you apply gas checks properly to a bullet designed for them, without a lubrisizer? Is there a simpler, cheaper tool? I'm a student in a crowded apt., so I'd hate to find out I could have just bought a 20 dollar hand tool, instead of a large bench mounted tool.

Thanks for your time,
Bobby