PDA

View Full Version : WW Melting Yield?

22lover
02-20-2009, 01:00 AM
Admittedly, I'm new to casting. My first experiences have been casting ingots in a muffin pan. I'm using parrafin to flux, yet still get some trash on the tops of the ingots despite my best efforts to ladle it off in the pot. I guess improvement comes with experience.

Anyway, how much useable ingot should I expect from a 50lb box of WW? I'm getting about 30 lbs. I'm considering throwing the massive pile of clips with residual alloy back into the pot to see if I can get a few more pounds out of it, but I'm wondering if a 60% yield is about what I should expect.

Thanks,

Bill

imashooter2
02-20-2009, 08:26 AM
80 - 85% is pretty common. There shouldn't be any lead on the clips.

armyrat1970
02-20-2009, 09:13 AM
Admittedly, I'm new to casting. My first experiences have been casting ingots in a muffin pan. I'm using parrafin to flux, yet still get some trash on the tops of the ingots despite my best efforts to ladle it off in the pot. I guess improvement comes with experience.

Anyway, how much useable ingot should I expect from a 50lb box of WW? I'm getting about 30 lbs. I'm considering throwing the massive pile of clips with residual alloy back into the pot to see if I can get a few more pounds out of it, but I'm wondering if a 60% yield is about what I should expect.

Thanks,

Bill

Newer wheel weights are different than older. I have learned this the hard way without having a full understanding of the content of the weights. Some contain Zinc and some maybe steel. Read some other post here about casting with wheel weights. Either Zinc or steel will mess up your casting alloy. If you have clips with as you say is residual alloy it is probably zinc left on the clips and you don't want to throw them back in the pot. That will cause many problems. Skim them off and throw them away.