PDA

View Full Version : Quickload thread

Pages : [1] 2 3

dromia
06-11-2009, 04:23 PM
Any Quickload users out there?

If so how do you fancy starting a Quickload thread?

If there is interest we could make it a sticky, discuss the finer points of the software as regards Cast Boolits.

For me its one of the best reloading purchases I've ever made.

Anyone got or upgraded to V 3.5 from V 3.4? Is the upgrade worth the ten squids?

BD
06-11-2009, 05:37 PM
I recently purchased Quickload. It's been useful, and I'm still learning. But I've had an issue.

Do any of you guys know if you can go back in and fine tune a load with real chrony data? I've found a couple of instances where it's pretty far off base. It really led me astray with heavy cast boolits in the .450 bushmaster. The model looked pretty good using the Hornady factory FTX's, and tracked the chrony data pretty well. Next, it was estimating about 10% higher velocities than I recorded for the Nosler 250 JHPS.

Thinking I had a handle on it I measured up my 300 grain boolits, adjusted the program and used the data to load a load work up. The starting load clocked 10% higher than what the model predicted for the max load. Whoops! I wound up pulling 50 rounds.

I can't get the model to even get close to predicting that velocity without adding 10,000 psi to the start pressure and dropping the case h2o capacity by 5 grains. So for now, Quickload is not real useful for the predicting Boolit loads in that cartridge. Any way of adjusting things to get closer to reality?
BD

scrapcan
06-11-2009, 05:44 PM
dromia,

It looks like it may be a good idea as you ahve one question already. I am not a user or owner but will read what comes up.

dromia
06-11-2009, 06:01 PM
I recently purchased Quickload. It's been useful, and I'm still learning. But I've had an issue.