PDA

View Full Version : Degreasing a bullet mold

mrcvs
12-05-2023, 09:56 AM
I have a new mold and can’t find a degreasing agent. Before running out to get something, are any common household agents an option? If not, what’s recommended at the local auto parts store?

For regreasing to prevent rust, what’s recommended with eventual degreasing again in mind when using the mold again?

Thumbcocker
12-05-2023, 10:14 AM
Brake parts cleaner or starting fluid have worked for me, although these days I am just as likely to put the mold pieces in the dishwasher. I hever regrease a mold. Put it in a steel GI ammo can while it is still warm. They will never rust.

Larry Gibson
12-05-2023, 10:17 AM
The way I've been cleaning moulds [brass, iron and aluminum] for the last 40+ Years. You'll need;

Spray can of carburetor or brake cleaner
Old tooth brush
Q-tips
Butane/propane hand torch
Mould prep
Kroil, spray or regular can.

I leave the mould blocks attached to the handles.

Spray with the carburetor/brake cleaner, brush with toothbrush, especially in the cavities then Spray again, shake off excess, let dry.

Play the propane flame over the mould, inside and out including in the cavity(s). You will see the "moisture" come to the surface and evaporate. When it evaporates that is enough move on until the entire surface of the blocks are "cleaned" inside and out. The mould blocks will not get hot enough to "warp" as is claimed but will be too hot to touch.

Swab out the cavity(s) with a Q-tip to remove any residue.

I apply a mould prep to the top/bottom of the sprue plate, the pivot screw, the alignment pins and the top of the mould blocks with care given to not get any prep in the cavity.

The mould is ready to cast with.

After casting, if the mould is not going to be used again, I let the blocks cool completely then cover with a light coat of Kroil.

mrcvs
12-05-2023, 10:26 AM
I have carburetor cleaner. Thanks! I didn’t feel like driving somewhere as a wasted trip.