PDA

View Full Version : The DUMBEST question ever ask, buy a person that has reloaded as long as I have!

gcollins
02-14-2009, 10:06 AM
Howdy Guys,
:confused: I was looking for a icon that stude for Imbarassed!! I have made this statement several times, because I am proud of something that I have done, and done a good job at! I have been reloading for 32 years! To me reloading is rewarding in so many ways, it started off as cost effective way to shoot, and still is! But also it becomes a obession to do the best, you can and do things people say you can't! When I thought I was going to CAS (and I havn't given up on it totaly) I knew my back couldn't handle the recoil of a double barrel 12ga, and not certain on the 20ga. I shoot Register Skeet and had 3-366 Hordnady press and a 410 mec progessive. Not know what i was going to do, I bought a old Crescent 16ga SXS in a box, I was lucky a friend had a side plate sxs that was close, and he let me duplicate the guts of this sxs because there wern't anything in there! I bought a OLd Mec 16 ga reloader, that was made for the cardboard wads! DownRange had never got ther 3/4 oz 16 ga wads on the market, so i got all my books out, figure how I could load a 410 2 1/2' load in these 16ga empties, and still have good wad pressure and good crimp.
:roll::roll: Sorry for getting off topic!
My question is: what do you do, when you swag a bullet?? A couple of months ago, I bought a box of misc. reloading stuff, and in there is a box marker Herters Swagger, i open it up and look, took it apart, and it has a 8mm piece.
So why do you swag???

I am so sorry to ask just a dumb question?
Greg

Ballard
02-14-2009, 10:31 AM
Swaging can be several things. It can be forming a bare piece of lead into a bullet shape. This is done in a smooth die of correct diameter, with a punch on each end of the shape you are looking for. (flat, Keith, RN, etc). You swage UP. The piece comes out larger in diameter.